CBS Announces Midseason Premiere Dates & Schedule: SURVIVOR, DOUBT and More

cbs logo

CBS has unveiled its midseason schedule, including premiere dates for new shows (TRAINING DAY and DOUbT) and returning shows (UNDERCOVER BOSS and SURVIVOR).

The Network will begin rolling out its new scripted programming on New Year’s Day with the launch of RANSOM, a crime drama about a world-renowned crisis and hostage negotiator whose team is brought in to resolve the most difficult kidnap and ransom cases. RANSOM debuts on Sunday, Jan. 1 after a football doubleheader, and moves to its regular Saturday time period (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) on Jan. 7.

CBS will launch two dramas in February, beginning with TRAINING DAY, premiering Thursday, Feb. 2 (10:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT) after PURE GENIUS completes its season order. DOUBT will premiere Wednesday, Feb. 15 (10:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT) following the season finale of CODE BLACK.

As previously announced, the new competition series HUNTED premieres Sunday, Jan. 22, immediately following one of television’s biggest events, the NFL’s AFC Championship game (10:00-11:00 PM, ET/7:00-8:00 PM, PT – time is approximate after post-game coverage). The series moves to Wednesdays on Jan. 25 with a special two-hour episode, 8:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT, and then air 8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT in subsequent weeks.

Also, in the second half of the year:

The eighth season of UNDERCOVER BOSS will premiere with a special two-hour episode on Wednesday, Dec. 21 (8:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT). It moves to Wednesdays (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) on Dec. 28, until the time period premiere of HUNTED on Jan 25.

The next season of SURVIVOR debuts with a two-hour premiere on Wednesday, March 8 (8:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT), one week after the conclusion of HUNTED. SURVIVOR moves to its regular Wednesday (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) time period on March 15.

Reality series THE AMAZING RACE returns on Friday, April 21 (8:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT), with a two-hour premiere one week after the season finale of MACGYVER, then moving to its regular Friday (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) time period on April 28.

Here’s the full midseason schedule:

Wednesday, Dec. 21
8:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT UNDERCOVER BOSS (8th Season Premiere)

Wednesday, Dec. 28
8:00-9:00 p.m. ET/PT UNDERCOVER BOSS (Time Period Premiere)

Sunday, Jan. 1 (Football Doubleheader)
8:30-9:30 p.m. ET/8:00-9:00 p.m. PT RANSOM (Series Premiere)

Saturday, Jan. 7
8:00-9:00 p.m. ET/PT RANSOM (Time Period Premiere)

Sunday, Jan. 22
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/7:00-8:00 p.m. PT HUNTED (Series Premiere)

Wednesday, Jan. 25
8:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT HUNTED (2-Hour Episode)
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT CODE BLACK

Wednesday, Effective Feb. 1
8:00-9:00 p.m. ET/PT HUNTED (Time Period Premiere)
9:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT CRIMINAL MINDS
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT CODE BLACK

Thursday, Effective Feb. 2
8:00-8:30 p.m. ET/PT THE BIG BANG THEORY
8:30-9:00 p.m. ET/PT THE GREAT INDOORS
9:00-9:30 p.m. ET/PT MOM
9:30-10:00 p.m. ET/PT LIFE IN PIECES
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT TRAINING DAY (Series Premiere)

Wednesday, Effective Feb. 15
8:00-9:00 p.m. ET/PT HUNTED
9:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT CRIMINAL MINDS
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT DOUBT (Series Premiere)

Wednesday, March 8
8:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT SURVIVOR (2-Hour Premiere)
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT DOUBT

Wednesday, Effective March 15
8:00-9:00 p.m. ET/PT SURVIVOR (Time Period Premiere)
9:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT CRIMINAL MINDS
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT DOUBT

Friday, April 21
8:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT THE AMAZING RACE (2-Hour Premiere)
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT BLUE BLOODS

Friday, April 28
8:00-9:00 p.m. ET/PT THE AMAZING RACE (Time Period Premiere)
9:00-10:00 p.m. ET/PT HAWAII FIVE-0
10:00-11:00 p.m. ET/PT BLUE BLOODS

For all the latest TV news and reviews